Looking at the DSM5 Criteria for Autism (again) and comparing it to lived experiences from Autistic adults.

It is so important for us to revisit these resources and compare them to our lived Autistic experiences, as well as hear Collective experiences from the Autistic online Communities. Together we share our perspectives, lived experiences, and give support to other late realized Autistics on their self discovery journey.

Jean Grey | Neurodivergent Rising
14 min readAug 10, 2023
Photo by Alexander Grey on Unsplash

Hello! Jean Grey here. A late realized Autistic adult with ADHD and CPTSD. I have written about the DSM-5 breakdown for Autism and included questions to help other adults process it — which I will link at the end of this article. But today I am going to examine my own scores, experiences, and identity as I unmask my own Autistic characteristics. I hope my inner reflections and processing help others at any capacity on their own late realization journey.

THE DSM-5 CRITERIA FOR AUTISM

The DSM-5 (Diagnostic and Statistical Manual of Mental Disorders, 5th Edition) provides specific criteria for diagnosing Autism Spectrum Disorder (ASD). The criteria are divided into two main

--

--

Jean Grey | Neurodivergent Rising

#ActuallyAutistic #ADHD #CPTSD Sharing my Late realized Neurodivergent experiences. INFP-A | Cat lover | Writer | Blogger